Chicken Breasts Stuffed with Goat Cheese and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

This. Is. Excellent. Chicken. Well, don’t make fun of me…it’s true! I would usually never make something like this. It’s been a handful of years since I have even attempted a stuffed chicken breast recipe. But the rain outside and the empty propane tank meant that I couldn’t grill without 1) a run to the store for a refill propane tank and 2) and boyfriend willing to get wet while turning chicken. It was just by the luck of those two hurdles on my Friday evening that I ran across this recipe from Cooking Light magazine. I exaggerate not when I tell you that it is DELICIOUS!!

The recipe called for a couple tablespoons of chopped basil. The only basil I have that is ready for a small harvest is my purple basil so I picked a few leaves to try in this dish. Isn’t it dark and beautiful??!!

Halfway through cooking I was almost jumping up and down in excitement that the goat cheese-y goodness wasn’t leaking out!

I am not a food photographer (yet) but here is the finished, lovely stuffed chicken and some braised swiss chard that I made to go along with it.

Chicken Breasts Stuffed with Goat Cheese and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

(Adapted from Cooking Light)

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil, diced
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1/3 cup shallots, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
  • 3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar, divided
  • 4 ounces goat cheese
  • 2 tablespoons chopped, fresh basil
  • 4 chicken breasts
  • kosher salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock

Method

  • Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a large skillet. Add shallot, garlic and sugar. Cook for about 4-5 minutes until soft.
  • In a bowl combine goat cheese, 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar, sun-dried tomatoes,   basil, the cooked shallot and garlic mixture, salt and pepper. Stir.
  • Prepare the chicken breasts by slicing the thick part of the breasts into a pocket. (the breasts I used were on the small side) Fill with a couple tablespoons of cheese mixture. Close with a toothpick or 2 per breast.
  • Using the same pan the shallot and garlic was cooked in, add another tablespoon of olive oil and place the stuffed chicken breasts in. Season with salt and pepper. Cook on 5 minutes per side. Add 1/2 cup chicken stock and 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar and cook (flipping two more times and basting with pan juices) for another 15 minutes until done. Enjoy!

Leave a comment